BILL SUMMARY 1st Session of the 60th Legislature

Bill No.:	HB1486
Version:	FA1
Request Number:	13306
Author:	Rep. Johns
Date:	3/1/2025
Impact:	\$51,800.00

Research Analysis

The floor substitute to HB 1486 memorializes several highways and bridges across Oklahoma and modifies the location descriptions and names of certain memorialized highways and bridges.

New designations include the:

- A. Visanio Johnson Memorial Bridge in Oklahoma County;
- Brooks Mittasch Memorial Bridge in Noble County;
- Buddy Murrell Memorial Highway in Alfalfa County;
- COP Andy Blizzard and ACOP Justin Durrett Memorial Highway in McIntosh County;
- Dawson Sumner Memorial Highway in Okmulgee County;
- Don and Shirley Staires Memorial Highway in Osage County;
- Eldon Hogue Memorial Bridge in Coal County;
- Gary Don Rayner, PLS Memorial Bridge in Custer County;
- Harvey Bollinger Sr. Memorial Bridge in Pushmataha County;
- Joe Collins Memorial Bridge in Creek County;
- LCPL John C. Reevs Memorial Bridge in Bryan County;
- Mayor Jeff Shockley Memorial Highway in LeFlore County;
- Monte Duane King, PLS Memorial Bridge in Murray County;
- PFC David P. Manners Memorial Bridge in Bryan County;
- PFC John Dudley Good Memorial Bridge in Mayes County;
- Representative James E. Covey Bridge in Custer County;
- Senator Roy A. Boatner Memorial Highway in Bryan County;
- SFC Brandon O. Poynter Memorial Highway in LeFlore County;
- SGT Ronald G. Castor Purple Heart Recipient Memorial Highway in Wagoner County;
- Shilah Carrillo Memorial Bridge in Sequoyah County;
- Ted Riley Flatt Memorial Bridge in Oklahoma County;
- The Honorable Rick Littlefield Memorial Highway in Ottawa County;
- Trooper Bob Impson Memorial Highway in Pushmataha County;
- Trooper William "Bill" Walker and Park Superintendent T. Leo Newton Memorial Highway in McIntosh County;
- Veronica Butler and Jilian Kelley Memorial Highway in Texas County; and
- Will Hardin Memorial Highway in Cotton County.

CHANGES IN FLOOR SUB VERSION FROM THE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE:

The floor substitute adds the Trooper William "Bill" Walker and Park Superintendent T. Leo Newton Memorial Highway and the Ted Riley Flatt Memorial Bridge to the list of new designations. Prepared By: Keana Swadley

Fiscal Analysis

This measure designates 24 new memorial road and/or bridge signs and amends two currently in statute. According to the Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT), the cost per sign is about \$925.00, and as each designation has 2 markers, one for each side of the roadway, that is about \$1850.00 for each designation. With the 26 different markers in this measure that is a total of \$48,100.00 for all of them. As ODOT is an appropriated agency, this does create a potential fiscal impact to the state budget of \$48,100.00.

This \$48,100 is the most that ODOT may have to spend, as policy requires that ODOT only pay for the full cost of the signs for those who were killed in the line of duty as a military member, law enforcement office, firefighter, or other first responder. Given this information, it is likely that the final impact will be less than the \$48,100.

The Floor Amendment adds two more places for designated signs. That increases the impact by \$3,700.00 for a total possible impact of \$51,800.00.

Prepared By: Mariah Searock, House Fiscal Staff

Other Considerations

None.

© 2025 Oklahoma House of Representatives, see Copyright Notice at www.okhouse.gov